Our Team

Discover the people that make KCMC.

Our Expertise

As an active player in UK materials chemistry innovation for more than a decade, KCMC offers a wealth of reliable expertise and experience in knowledge transfer. 

The KCMC Team

The knowledge transfer team offers over 100 years industry R&D experience. Every member of the KCMC team works to achieve the best possible outcomes for our customers, leveraging the capabilities of our university partners to accelerate collaborations, support knowledge transfer and minimise the risks of investing in new materials. 

Dr Steve McBride

Head of KCMC

Maureen Laughton

KCMC Operations Manager

Ron Swart

Knowledge Transfer Manager

Dr John Baker

Knowledge Transfer Manager

Dr Craig Fairgrieve

Knowledge Transfer Manager

Dr Jonathan Smith

Business Development Manager STFC, Hartree

Governing Board

The Governing Board responsibilities fall within five general areas: Planning; Financial Stewardship; Performance Monitoring and Accountability; Risk Management and Complaints Review

Professor Martin Schröder

University of Manchester

Professor Karl Coleman

University of Liverpool

Professor Patrick McGhee

University of Bolton

John Grasmeder

Victrex plc

Sophie Walton

Strategic Partnerships Director, CPI

Professor Andrew Hector

University of Southampton

KCMC Management Group

The Centre Management team is chaired by the KCMC Director and comprises the knowledge transfer managers and the lead academic representatives from the partner institutions. 

Professor Matthew J Rosseinsky

University of Liverpool

Professor Mike Turner

University of Manchester

Professor Baljinder Kandola

University of Bolton

Professor Robert Raja

University of Southampton

Dr Rick Anderson

STFC Hartree

Dr Nuria Garcia-Araez

University of Southampton