Professor Allan Matthews elected as Fellow of the Royal Society

Professor Allan Matthews, University of Manchester Professor of Surface Engineering and Tribology in the Department of Materials, and affiliated to the Henry Royce Institute, joins eighty outstanding researchers, innovators and communicators from around the world who have been elected as the newest Fellows of the Royal Society, the UK’s national academy of sciences and the oldest science academy in continuous existence.

Allan join the ranks of Stephen Hawking, Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein, Lise Meitner, Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar and Dorothy Hodgkin.

Professor Allan Matthews has been selected as a Fellow for his substantial contribution to the advancement of science, with the Royal Society stating that his ground-breaking research into surface engineering has been agenda-setting, prolific and pivotal since the 1980s.” See more